Vagabond, I By Joe Nicholas

September 8, 2014 Comments Off on Vagabond, I By Joe Nicholas

I lie here, crucified by the earth in absolute silence, my head buzzing with cheap liquor, the webs of my love unfolding across these snowy plains. I hear cars in the distance, hundreds of people, lives, existences outside of my own, appearing as nothing but the sound of fading motors. I look at the empty spaces between the stars. They appear to be inches apart, yet those inches contain trillions of miles. There are trillions of lifetimes that I will never experience. I lay in this gray earth, the trees revealing all of the secrets that the grass already knew, yet I

Did not.

© 2014 Joe Nicholas

Joe Nicholas is an experimenter and experiencer with work published or forthcoming in The Legendary, Phantom Kangaroo, Star*Line, Willard & Maple, and other fine magazines. He enjoys wine, felines, puns, perpetual evolution, and all things bizarre. His blogfolio can be found at 8rainCh1ld.tk.

Comments are closed.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Vagabond, I By Joe Nicholas at Flash Fiction Musings for The Literary Minded.

meta